Beef Industry Group Addresses Joint Committee Structure

Farm Journal logo

The Federation of State Beef Councils, a division of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA), elected officers and discussed key organizational structure during its board meeting Feb. 4, at the 2012 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade show in Nashville, Tenn.

Discussed in the convention Federation Forum was a proposal that would alter the Joint Committee structure between NCBA and the Cattlemen’s Beef Board (CBB). The proposal, which was approved by the CBB and NCBA during the convention, outlines how joint checkoff committees will function.  A second, more detailed proposal is set to be discussed at the summer 2012 conference in Denver.

Elected 2012-13 Federation chairman was Craig Uden, a cow-calf producer and feeder from Elwood, Neb. Richard Gebhart, a Claremore, Okla., cattleman, was elected vice chairman. Uden, who served as Federation vice chairman last year, succeeds David Dick, a cow-calf operator from Sedalia, Mo.
Newly elected to represent the Federation as regional vice presidents on the NCBA executive committee are Garry Wiley, Mich., Region I; Clay Burtrum, Okla., Region IV; and Sid Viebrock, Wash., Region V. They join the existing RVPs: Jennifer Houston, Tenn., Region II; Terri Carstensen, Iowa, Region III; Jane Frost, N.M., Region VI; and Becky Walth, S.D., Region VII. Richard Ayers, a veal producer from Argyle, N.Y., replaces Ray Krones, Indiana, as the Federation’s veal representative to the executive committee.
The Federation also approved eight of its 10 representatives to the Beef Promotion Operating Committee (BPOC), which decides the final national checkoff program plan each year. As Federation chair and vice chair, who are standing BPOC members, Uden and Gebhart will serve, as well as 2012 Federation representatives Jerry Bohn, Kan.; Jerry Effertz, N.D.; Steve Hanson, Neb.; Cevin Jones, Idaho; Irv Petsch, Wyo.; Linda Joy Stovall, Texas; Sid Viebrock, Wash.; and Becky Walth, S.D.
The Federation named its FY 2012 Federation Advisory Council (FAC), comprised of state beef council executives who advise the Federation on a variety of issues and initiatives. New FAC members include Traci Bracco, Idaho; Elizabeth Harsh, Ohio; Heather Buckmaster, Okla.; and Kevin Thielen, Kan., who was also chosen as 2012 FAC vice chairman.  They join the existing FAC members: Ann Wittmann, Wyo., 2012 FAC chairman; Sammy Blossom, Miss.; Jim Handley, Fla; Dina Reitzel Chacon, N.M.; and Richard Wortham, Texas, immediate past chairman. 



Latest News

Wholesale Beef Higher, But Cash Cattle Struggle

Beef packers continued to maintain their strangle-hold on the market this week. Rising boxed beef cutout prices will pad packer profits – likely to exceed $400 per head.

What Technology Would Catch Your Eye If You Won the Lottery?

The latest Drovers Pulse Poll found calf care would take the top priority if cost wasn’t an issue.

Biden’s Top Trade Pick Vows to Stay Tough on China

Congress got a clearer view of President Biden’s trade agenda this week as the Senate Finance Committee questioned Katherine Tai, Biden's nominee to serve as the United States Trade Representative.

Effects of Transporting Cattle on Auction Prices

Researchers at Kansas State University analyzed 211 livestock video auctions and determined that trucking distance has an effect on the price that buyers are willing to pay.

Targeted Online Learning on Biosecurity

To further support cattle producers across the country the Beef Checkoff-funded Beef Quality Assurance (BQA) program has released the first in a series of Advanced Education Modules.

Beyond Meat Clinches Coveted Deals with Mcdonald's, Yum Brands

Plant-based meat maker Beyond Meat said on Thursday it has signed multi-year supply deals with McDonald’s Corp and Taco Bell owner Yum! Brands Inc.