Rest Easy. A Known Carcinogen Is Now GMO-Free

Is there any marketing scheme more dishonest than the promotion of an alcoholic beverage as non-GMO?

Smirnoff, which claims to be the “world’s No. 1 vodka,” launched a new campaign announcing that "Smirnoff No. 21 is now made with non-GMO [corn]." Helping Smirnoff promote such nonsense is actor, producer and longtime brand partner Ted Danson (Cheers) and actress and author Jenna Fischer (The Office).

Yes, it’s nonsense because alcohol is infinitely more dangerous to humans than GMOs. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classifies alcohol as a Group 1 carcinogen, noting that 3.6% of all cancer cases and 3.5% of cancer deaths worldwide are due to the consumption of alcohol.

And GMOs? Well…after 22 years, we’re still looking for the first cases of a human adversely affected by consuming GMOs. But, Smirnoff, please don’t let that stop you from using scare tactics, misinformation and dishonesty to sell your firewater.

The press release from Smirnoff announcing its commitment to non-GMO corn is absolutely loaded with drivel. For instance, “Smirnoff No. 21, which has always been gluten-free…” Oh, please!

But this is a show-stopper of a whopper: “As the brand dedicated to bringing fun times to everyone, Smirnoff is now offering its same quality No. 21 vodka recipe, now non-GMO, without changing the suggested retail price - because why shouldn't everyone be able to enjoy a quality vodka without having to break the bank?!”

Wait… “same quality?” As in, the non-GMO stuff is the same quality as the recipe you were using? So, you really don’t believe there is any difference in the vodka made with GMOs or non-GMOs? And about that price. Thanks for not raising it to pay for your phony “gluten-free, non-GMO” marketing scheme.

Smirnoff ends its announcement with a plea for everyone to “please remember to enjoy Smirnoff responsibly.” Sure. And would you please begin marketing your product “responsibly?”

 

 

 

Comments
Submitted by SB on Thu, 10/11/2018 - 07:14

I completely agree with the fear mongering non-GMO label garbage. However, your credibility diminished when you veered to the gluten-free (GF) statement. As one who must eat GF this statement is actually helpful. There are many times gluten is hidden in foods/beverages one would not expect. Believe me, "assuming" something is safe (GF) has come back to haunt me too many times. Let's ban together on truthful labeling - but leave the GF bashing alone.

Submitted by Rover on Thu, 10/11/2018 - 08:32

As someone with celiac I second the previous comments. Gluten can be found in soy sauce, ice cream, salad dressing, and other unexpected places. And the talk of glueing steak pieces together with a gluten binder to make a more attractive steak is scary. This would be gluten in a totally unexpected place.

Submitted by Greg Henderson on Thu, 10/11/2018 - 09:22

SB and Rover: Your point about gluten is noted. Thank you. Generally, however, gin, vodka and whiskey are typically safe for people on gluten-free diets because they are distilled. The Celiac Disease Foundation says that distilled alcohol does not contain any harmful gluten peptides because the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. 

In reply to by Rover (not verified)